• More Jain Stories with Pictures (Coming Soon)

Get eJainism Toolbar
Ahimsa Parmo Dharma | Soul does not possess qualities of matter, so it is not apprehensible by senses; though the soul is not material, it is eternal; soul's defiled actions result in its worldly cycles. | Parasparo Upgraha Jivanam

Brief Details of 24 Tirthanakaras


A Tithankara

Tirthankaras are special Siddhas (liberated souls) who has attained omniscience and guides the other souls to save them from the cycles of repeated earth existences (rebirth). Tirthankaras are just ordinary man, born as human, but through their intense practice of kindness, equanimity and meditation, he attains the state of a Tirthankara.

Thus, a Tirthankar is an individual who destroys attachment with all the earthly things and relations, he frees himself absolutely from ignorance, he repays all his previous and this birth's dues of karmas, he detaches himself from all the good and bad, he attains absolute knowledge about present, past, and future, and becomes an omniscient in the process. He becomes a Sidha and frees himself from the cycle of birth and re-birth.

Tirthankaras revitalize the Jain Sangh (four-fold Jain Order) consisting of Sadhus (male saints), Sadhvis (female saints), Shravaks (male householders), and Shravikas (female householders). During every half time cycle, twenty-four persons like us rise to the level of Tirthankara. Every time-span consist of 12 Araah’s (era’s) 1 to 6 in first half cycle and 6 to 1 in second half cycle. Jainism states time has no beginning or end. It moves like the wheel of a cart. There have been an infinite number of time cycles before our present era and there will be an infinite number of time cycles after this age. At the beginning of the twenty first century, we were approximately 2,530 years into the fifth era of the present half cycle i.e. Avasarpini time-span.

The 24 Tirthankaras are considered to be the creator of Jain religion. They are divine elements of Jainism. They have attained all the achievement of ultimate nature including the ultimate knowledge after making vigorous efforts. Their principles are for betterment and welfare of others. Their path is to provide total fearless life and that of non-violence and to distribute love and friendship. Their vision of life is very wide and they have no insistence for anything. Their way of life is for giving up possessive passion and being free from the karmas.

After achieving enlightenment, a Tirthankara shows others the path to enlightenment. The Tirthankara's religious teachings form the Jain canons. The inner knowledge of all Tirthankaras is perfect and identical in every respect, for the teachings of one Tirthankara do not contradict those of another. However, the degree of elaboration varies according to the spiritual advancement and purity of humans during that period. The higher the spiritual advancement and purity of mind, the lower the elaboration required.

At the end of his human life-span, a Tirthankara achieves liberation ('moksha' or 'nirvana'), ending the cycle of infinite births and deaths.

A Tithankara's mother have sixteen (fourteen according to Swetambara Jain Sect) auspicious dreams after her conception. These dreams are as following:

Dreams of a Tirthankara's Mother

  1. Bull
  2. Elephant
  3. Lion
  4. Goddess Laxmi
  5. Garlands of Flowers
  6. Full Moon
  7. Sun
  8. Auspicious Banner
  9. Auspicious Urn
  10. Lake filled with Lotuses
  11. Milky White Sea
  12. Celestial Vehicle
  13. Heap of Gems
  14. Fire without Smoke
  15. Pair of Fish (According to Digambara Jain Sect only)
  16. Throne (According to Digambara Jain Sect only)

Below we are giving a brief introduction of all 24 Tirthankaras of the present time span i.e. Uttsarpini time-span.

 Tirthankar  Heaven  Birthplace; Consecration  Parents Symbol 
1. Lord Rishabha (Adinath) Sarvartha-siddha Vinittanagari or Ayodhya;
Asthapad or Kailash Parvat
& Marudevi
Bull or Ox
2. Lord Ajitnath Vijaya-vimana Ayodhya; Sammed Shikharji Jitashatru
& Vijayasena

3. Lord Sambhavnath Uvari-magraiveka  Shravasti; Sammed Shikhari Jitari
& Susena mata
4. Lord Abhinandannath Jayanta-vimana

Ayodhya; Sammed Shikharji

Sanvar raja
& Siddhartha devi
5. Lord Sumatinath Jayanta-vimana

Ayodhya; Sammed Shikharji

& Mangala devi
Curlew or
Red Goose
6. Lord Padmaprabhu Uvari-magraiveka Kaushambi; Sammed Shikharji Dheeran
& Sushima devi
7. Lord Suparshvanath Madhya-magraiveka Varanasi; Sammed Shikharji Pratishthita
& Prithvi devi
8. Lord Chandraprabhu Vijayanta Chandrapura; Sammed Shikharji Mahasena raja
& Sulakshana
9. Lord Pushpadanta Anata-devaloka Kakandi-nagari; Sammed Shikharji Sugriva raja
& Rama devi 
10. Lord Sheetalnath Achyuta-devaloka Mahliapura; Sammed Shikharji Dridharatha
& Sunanda devi
Kalpa-vriksha (Digambara)
Srivatsa (Swetambara)
11. Lord Shreyansnath Achyuta-devaloka Simhapuri; Sammed Shikharji Vimal raja
& Vimla devi
12. Lord Vasupujya Pranata-devaloka Champapuri; Mandargiri parvat, Champapuri Vasupujya
& Vijaya devi
13. Lord Vimalnath Mahasara-devaloka Kampilapura; Sammed Shikharji Suvratavarma
& Shyama devi
14. Lord Anantnath Pranata-devaloka Ayodhya; Sammed Shikharji Harishena
& Surjaa devi
Porcupine (Digambara)
Falcon (Swetambara)
15. Lord Dharmanath Vijaya-vimana Ratnapuri;
Sammed Shikharji
Bhanu raja
& Suvrata devi
16. Lord Shantinath Sarvartha-siddha Gajapura or Hastinapuri; Sammed Shikharji Vishwasena
& Aira Devi
17. Lord Kunthunath Sarvartha-siddha Gajapura or Hastinapuri;
Sammed Shikharji
Shoor raja
& Srimati devi
18. Lord Arahnath Sarvartha-siddha Gajapura or Hastinapuri;
Sammed Shikharji 
Sudarshana raja
& Mitra Devi
Fish (Digambara)
Nandavrata (Swetambara)
19. Lord Mallinath Jayanta-devaloka Mithila; Sammed Shikharji  Kumbha raja
& Prajavati devi
Urn (Kalasha)
20. Lord Munisuvrata Aparajita-devaloka Rajgriha; Sammed Shikharji Sumatra raja
& Shyama Devi
21. Lord Naminath Pranata-devaloka Mithila; Sammed Shikharji Vijayaratha raja
& Vipula devi
Blue Water Lily or Blue Lotus
22. Lord Neminath Aparajita Shauripura;
Mount Girnar (Girnarji)
Samudra vijaya
& Shiva devi
Conch (Shankh)
23. Lord Parshvanath Pranata-devaloka Varanasi; Sammed Shikharji Ashwasena
& Vama devi
Snake (Naag)
24. Lord Mahaveera Pranata-devaloka Kundalpur or Chitrakuta;
Siddhartha raja (Shreyansa or
& Trishala (Vidchadinna
or Priyakarini)


Om Namah

Bookmark and Share